IMGA Awards


IMGA Distinguished Service Award 2009
The IMGA Distinguished Service Award for exempliary service to IMGA and to Medical Geology was presented for the first time at the Third Hemispheric Conference of Medical Geology in Montevideo, Uruguay, October 2009.The award was presented to three dedicated scientists who have done much in promoting medical geology. All are from South America, a rapidly expanding region of medical geology.
Cássio Roberto da Silva, Geologist MSc
Has been with the Geological Survey of Brazil since 1978. His professional experience includes the execution and management of projects in geological mapping, mineral prospecting and environmental geology. He is the editor of Medical Geology in Brazil and Coordinator of the Environmental Geochemistry and Medical Geology National Program and website ( for the Geological Survey of Brazil – CPRM. He is a founding member of International Medical Geology Association (IMGA). Mr. da Silva collaborated on the 1st Short Course (2003) in Brazil and on the 2nd Hemispheric Conference (2007) and was the Coordinator of the 2nd Short Course on Medical Geology in Brazil (2005). He is also the Coordinator of the South American Division of the IMGA. Mr. da Silva is recognized for his many scientific and organizational contributions to Medical Geology and for being a key contributor to the successful growth of Medical Geology in Brazil.
Prof. Dr. Nelly Mañay
Prof. Manay is an  chemical toxicologist with expertise in the area of toxic metal research. She has promoted Medical geology in Uruguay since 2002 as a member of of a working group and an organizer of the first short course on Metals, Environment and Health. She has been an invited lecturer in Medical Geology international short courses, including a highly successful second short course that she organized in Uruguay in 2005,  and has been involved in the organization of scientific meetings, and regional symposia dealing with Medical Geology issues. Dr. Manay is one of the founding members of the IMGA. She was named as co-coordinator of the Southamerican Division of Medical Geology together with Dr. Cassio Silva from the Geological Survey of Brazil. She was nominated as the chairperson for the 3rd. HCMedGeo and GEM meeting that was held in Montevideo Uruguay, 12-16 October 2009 ( and she currently chairs the new “IMGA Conferences committee.” Dr. Mañay was a member of the IYPE  Science Program for the Earth and Health theme. Prof. Manay is recognized for strengthening the integration between the public health and geoscience communities by facilitating research and training opportunities between these two communities in Uruguay.
Sandra Londono
Sandra Londono is a PhD student at Arizona State University working with Dr. Lynda Williams on antibacterial properties of clay minerals, a part of medical potential of minerals, an area that she has been working on since her Bsc in Colombia and that was the door to enter the arena of  Medical Geology. Sandra Londono was instrumental in organizing a Colombian student group of medical geology that was officially introduced to IMGA during the II Hemispheric Conference held in Brazil in 2006. In order to join the IMGA global network, the IMGA Colombian chapter was created under the regional Division of South America. The chapter is composed of students, professors and professionals of different disciplines such as medicine, geology, environmental geochemistry, Pharmacy, and Chemistry and Sandra become the chair of the chapter. She was also elected to chair the IMGA Student Committee. Due to the Chapter's activities, INGEOMINAS has recognized the relevance of medical geology and has recruited chapter members to officially adopt and develop the field inside the entity. The chapter now has members from the Colombian environmental ministry who are researching the impacts of geological factors in public health connected with current laws and procedures. Ms. Londono has been part of the organizing committee for the first forum of Medical Geology in 2006 and is currently helping to organize a medical geology course in Colombia that will be held in 2010.  Sandra Londano is being recognized for these inspiring efforts by an undergraduate. 
IMGA Distinguished Service Award 2011
Kim McAuley
Dr Kimberley McAuley has been affiliated with the International Medical Geology Association since 2005 and has held numerous positions for the Association including Secretary and Head of the By-Law Committee. She has a background in Pharmacology, Toxicology and Public Health, completing her postgraduate research in water quality and disease burden (more specifically, adverse pregnancy outcomes and asthma). She recently served as an Issue Editor for the Encyclopaedia of Environmental Health and is currently a Research Assistant Professor within the School of Population Health at the University if Western Australia, heading a project investigating potential fetotoxic agents in the public water supply. Kimberley wishes to express her sincere thanks to the Association and its members for this award.

Saverio Fiore
Saverio Fiore, Chairman of the 4th International Medical Geology Conference (GEOMED 2011) and President of the Italian Chapter on Medical Geology.  Saverio Fiore is Senior Researcher at the Institute of Methodologies for Environmental Analysis, National Research Council of Italy (IMAA-CNR).
Dr. Fiore was awarded with the Lifetime Recognition Service to IMGA during GEOMED 2011 for his remarkable and outstanding contributions to de development of medical geology worldwide. Dr. Fiore’s  leadership as Chairman of GEOMED 2011 attracted over 250 participants from over 50 countries.  IMGA is proud to recognize Prof. Dr. Fiore  for his lifetime dedication, commitment and contributions to the global development of medical geology . Saverio Fiore has been a member of the scientific board of many national and international conferences and he chaired the XIV International Clay Conference (2009) and the 4th International Conference on Medical Geology (2011).  He served as President of the Italian Association for the Study of Clays and currently he is councillor of the International Association for the Study of Clays. He founded and headed the Environmental and Medical Geology Laboratory at IMAA-CNR and now is the chief of the CNR Research Group Micro and Nanominerals in the Health and Environment.



International Awards



Theophilus Davies
The "2014 NMGS-Shell Petroleum Award" was awarded to Professor Theophilus Clavell Davies (CGeol, FGS) of the Mangosuthu University of Technology, South Africa. The NMGS-Shell Petroleum Award is the highest award of the NMGS. It is sponsored by the Shell Petroleum Development Company of Nigeria Ltd.
Citation: "The 'Award' is for Earth Scientists of any nationality who have made significant contributions to the field of Earth Sciences by persistent and consistent excellent research in either or both of the pure and applied aspects of the Earth Sciences of the African continent".



Roll of Honour

In Memory of Those Who Have Helped Promote Medical Geology

William A. Garner (d2011) International Registry of Pathology, Washington, D.C., USA
Paul White (d2011) U.S. Embassy, Pretoria, South Africa
Jaime Ríos Dalenz (dOct 2013) La Academia de Historia de la Medicina – Filial Oruro, Bolivia